Laura Veirs – “The Ocean” (Led Zeppelin Cover)

Laura Veirs might not be the first person to come to mind when thinking about Led Zeppelin covers, but if you remember that Quit Your Day Job interview we did a few years ago, she certainly has chops. Her take on “The Ocean” comes from The Land of Ice And Snow: The Songs of Led Zeppelin, a double CD compilation that features dozens of other unlikely Robert Plant impersonations and the above Carson Ellis Houses Of The Holy-style cover art.

Laura Veirs – “The Ocean” (Led Zeppelin Cover)
(Via FingerTips)

The Land Of Ice And Snow: The Songs of Led Zeppelinis out 10/9 via Jealous Butcher, the label that also reissued lost ’90s classic, New Bad Things’ Freewheel. The Land Of Ice tracklist:

Disc 1
01 Kind of Like Spitting – “Good Times Bad Times”
02 The Clampitt Family – “Babe, I’m Going To Leave You”
03 Portland Cello Project – “Dazed and Confused”
04 Nick Jaina – “Your Time Is Gonna Come”
05 Fuck’d upright – “Whole Lotta Love”
06 Adam Selzer – “Poor Tom”
07 Carcrashlander – “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”
08 Kaia – “Fool In The Rain”
09 Dan Jones – “Thank You”
10 Lackthereof feat. Pete McCracken – “Heartbreaker”
11 Knock Knock – “Moby Dick”
12 Super XX Man – “Out on the Tiles”
13 Amy Annelle & The Shishi Mountain Boys – “Friends”
14 Jeff London – “Tangerine”
15 Arch Cape – “Bron-Y-Aur Stomp”
16 Weinland – “Hey Hey What Can I Do”

Disc 2
01 Chris Walla – “In The Evening”
02 Lana Rebel – “Black Dog”
03 Pellet Gun – “Rock and Roll”
04 Tu Fawning – “The Battle of Evermore”
05 Kelly Blair Bauman – “Stairway To Heaven”
06 Buellton – “Misty Mountain Top”
07 Rebecca Gates and the Consortium – “Four Sticks”
08 Johanna Kunin and Yikes Mountain – “Over The Hills and Far Away”
09 Testface – “No Quarter”
10 Laura Veirs and Mount Analog – “The Ocean”
11 Beltdine – “Houses of the Holy”
12 Loch Lomond – “Kashmir”
13 The Long Winters – “In The Light”
14 M. Ward – “Bron-Yr-Aur”
15 Power of Country – “Down By The Seaside”
16 Parks and Recreation – “All My Love”
17 Dave Depper – “I’m Gonna Crawl”

There are a slew of digital bonus tracks.