Coachella: Rage Against The Machine Reunite

“Killing In The Name” was particularly insane; you haven’t lived until you’ve yelled “Fuck you I won’t do what you tell me,” pumping fists with 60,000 sunburned kids in the desert.

The audience expected, and received, the most politically-charged set of the weekend. That the band was compelled to reunite amid this unprecedented partisan climate made the performance more significant than Rage’s last Coachella show in ’99. And lest there was any confusion, Zack de la Rocha let his thoughts on the current administration be known with these words:

“[The current administration] needs to be tried, hung and shot. We need to treat them like the war criminals they are. But the challenges we face go beyond the current administration ? It?s a system we have to tear down, generation after generation.”

The moshers seemed to understand.

01 “Testify”
02 “Bulls On Parade”
03 “People Of The Sun”
04 “Bombtrack”
05 “Bullet In The Head”
06 “Down Rodeo”
07 “Guerrilla Radio”
08 “Renegades Of Funk”
09 “Calm Like A Bomb”
10 “Sleep Now In The Fire”
11 “Wake Up”
12 “Freedom”
13 “Killing In The Name”