Rock Hall 2011 Nominees Announced, Sorry Duran Duran

The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame has announced its 2011 Nominees and Alice Cooper, Donovan, Dr. John, and Neil Diamond are first time nominees. As are Bon Jovi, who get to leave our perpetual bridesmaids list. The other 2011 nominees: Beastie Boys, Chic, J. Geils Band, LL Cool J, Darlene Love, Laura Nyro, Donna Summer, Joe Tex, Tom Waits, and Chuck Willis. With NCIS: Los Angeles in mind, take a look at the list of the snubbed.

Depeche Mode
Peter Gabriel
Cyndi Lauper
The Smiths
Stevie Ray Vaughan
Duran Duran
The Cure
Sonic Youth
Billy Idol
The Replacements
Willie Nelson
Judas Priest
Brian Eno
Hall & Oates
Minor Threat
Captain Beefheart
Black Flag

Can you think of others? Remember, it’s a year later so new folks (i.e. artists who had their first release in 1985) are eligible.