Nick Drake – “Black Mountain Blues”

June sees another posthumous release from the Drake estate, the necessity of which is yours to argue but from which we have a taste nonetheless. Family Tree culls unreleased rarities Nick set to tape prior to releasing his debut Five Leaves Left, a collection featuring audio-enhanced samples of his early writing and some covers, all mastered from his lo-fi reel-to-reel recorder to save ‘em from the hells of bootlegged sonic degradation. The cut we’ve got has Nick flexing his fingerpicking and playing straight croony bluesman, covering the well-trodden standard “Black Mountain Blues” (a staple of Janis Joplin’s, among others).

Nick Drake – “Black Mountain Blues” (MP3)

The rarities collection Family Tree is out 6/19 on Tsunami LG/Fontana. Read on for the tracklist.

01 “Come In To The Garden” (introduction) (Nick Drake)
02 “They’re Leaving Me Behind” (Nick Drake)
03 “Time Piece” (Nick Drake)
04 “Poor Mum” (M.Drake) performed by Molly Drake
05 “Winter Is Gone” (Traditional, arr: Nick Drake)
06 “All My Trials” (Traditional) performed by Nick and Gabrielle Drake
07 “Kegelstatt Trio for clarinet, viola and piano” (W.A. Mozart)
08 “Strolling Down the Highway” (Bert Jansch)
09 “Paddling In Rushmere” (Traditional)
10 “Cocaine Blues” (Traditional)
11 “Blossom” (Nick Drake)
12 “Been Smokin? Too Long” (Robin Frederick)
13 “Black Mountain Blues” (Traditional)
14 “Tomorrow Is A Long Time” (Bob Dylan)
15 “If You Leave Me” (Dave Van Ronk)
16 “Here Come The Blues” (Jackson C. Frank)
17 “Sketch 1″ (Nick Drake)
18 “Blues Run The Game” (Jackson C. Frank)
19 “My Baby So Sweet” (Traditional)
20 “Milk And Honey” (Jackson C. Frank)
21 “Kimbie” (Traditional)
22 “Bird Flew By” (Nick Drake)
23 “Rain” (Nick Drake)
24 “Strange Meeting II” (Nick Drake)
25 “Day Is Done” (Nick Drake)
26 “Come Into The Garden” (Nick Drake)
27 “Way to Blue” (Nick Drake)
28 “Do You Ever Remember?” (M. Drake) performed by Molly Drake

Tags: Nick Drake