Surf City – “Kudos”

A couple years ago we wrote about New Zealand BTW Surf City on the back of their promising self-titled 6-song EP. Then they were silent. At the time, I mentioned they used to be called “Kill Surf City,” that with the abridged “Surf City” name the Jesus & Mary Chain reference was a bit buried, but that it was probably better that way because you were more likely to hear the “jangling/darkish lo-fi pop bands of their homeland” anyhow. Bands like the Clean, the Terminals, the Chills. Now, post-Surfer Blood, you might have those guys pop into your head for a couple reasons. Also, Surf City were talking about Pavement’s influence before the reunion — you may get a bit of that in the occasional vocal cadence, guitar angle, and ramshackle vibe, but I’m still more likely to say something about a condensed Spacemen 3. “Kudos” is the title track from the quartet’s forthcoming full-length debut. It’s a good one.

Surf City – “Kudos”


01 Crazy Rulers Of The World
02 See How The Sun
03 Kudos
04 Icy Lakes
05 Teachers
06 Yakuza Park
07 Retro
08 In Times Of Approach
09 Autumn
10 CIA
11 Zombies

Kudos is out 11/30 via Fire. You can hear album opener “Crazy Rulers Of The World” and “Autumn” at MySpace.

Tags: Surf City