The Ex – “Cold Weather Is Back” (Stereogum Premiere)

“Cold Weather Is Back” is a catchy digital-age fuck off from longtime Dutch anarchist punk — and now constantly experimenting, evolving post-punk crew — the Ex. They’re also back via Catch My Shoe, the proper followup to the 2004 double LP Turn. The collection’s their 25th long player on their own recently resuscitated Ex Records, and the band’s 123rd release over all, but it’s their first full-length after losing original, legendary, low-in-the-mix vocalist G.W. Sok two years ago. At this point the sole original remaining member’s Terrie Hessels, though longtime Ex’s Katherina Bornefeld and Andy Moor are still in the fold. If you’re suspicious, don’t be: If you heard the “Maybe I Was the Pilot” b/w “Our Leaky Homes” 7″ you know new high-in-the-mix vocalist Arnold de Boer (of Zea) does a great job. The group’s always been good at losing players, adding duct tape, finding rebirth in those cracks: This voice is different and cleaner than Sok’s, but it brings a new power, revitalized power to the room. In addition to de Boer, they continue drawing influence from African music and trumpeter Roy Paci shows up on a couple tracks, including the below.”Do you still watch a flat TV? / Do you still listen to MP3s? / Well, no one has computers anymore /Because cold, cold weather is back!” Great to see they’re still stretching and agitating 30 years later.

The Ex – “Cold Weather Is Back”

01 “Maybe I Was The Pilot”
02 “Double Order”
03 “Cold Weather Is Back”
04 “Bicycle Illusion”
05 “Eoleyo”
06 “Tree Float”
07 “Keep On Walking”
08 “Life Whining”
09 “24 Problems”

Catch My Shoe is out 1/25 via Ex Records. More horns. Albini recorded, the Ex mixed, Bub Weston mastered.