Buffalo Tom – “Arise, Watch” (Stereogum Premiere)

Boston’s Buffalo Tom took off most of the ’00s, but returned in 2007 with their first album in nine years, Three Easy Pieces. So four years between that album and their latest, Skins, isn’t so long. “Arise, Watch” is the first track on Skins, and it’s a nice re-introduction to singer Bill Janovitz’s woolly, melancholy voice. It’s kind of like putting on your favorite sweater, though there is a surprisingly tense bridge halfway through:

Buffalo Tom – “Arise, Watch”

Skins is out 2/15 via Scrawny Records. There will be a deluxe edition with demos, B-sides, and a postcard. Here’s the tracklist for the regular edition:

01 “Arise, Watch”
02 “She’s Not Your Thing”
03 “Down”
04 “Don’t Forget Me”
05 “Guilty Girls”
06 “Miss Barren Brooks”
07 “Paper Knife”
08 “Here I Come”
09 “Lost Weekend”
10 “The Hawks & The Sparrows”
11 “The Big Light”
12 “The Kids Just Sleep”
13 “Out of The Dark”

Tags: Buffalo Tom