Bright Eyes The People’s Key Arrives 2/15

Bright Eyes’s Conor Oberst told the Omaha World-Herald back in 2009 that he’d do just one more album under the Bright Eyes name in 2010 before retiring it. The People’s Key sounds like that album, though it won’t be out until February 2011. Some other key details: The Bright Eyes line-up is still Conor Oberst, folk monster Mike Mogis and Nathaniel Walcott. The record was recorded at ARC Studios in Omaha, and it will come out via Saddle Creek (Oberst released his recent solo albums with Merge). And they’ll support The People’s Key with two big shows next year at NYC’s Radio City Music Hall and London’s Royal Albert Hall. What does The People’s Key sound like? Bright Eyes/Rilo Kiley drummer Jason Boesel Tweeted this: “Just heard half of the new Bright Eyes record. Best sci-fi emo album of the last 20 years!!!” Here’s the full tracklist:

01 “Firewall”
02 “Shell Games”
03 “Jejune Stars”
04 “Approximate Sunlight”
05 “Haile Selassie”
06 “A Machine Spiritual (In The People’s Key)”
07 “Triple Spiral”
08 “Beginner’s Mind”
09 “Ladder Song”
10 “One For You, One For Me”