Arbouretum – “Destroying To Save” (Stereogum Premiere)

We first heard Arbouretum via the Baltimore quartet’s John Cale-themed split with heavy Dead Meadow-esque Virginia brothers Pontiak. A few months later they brought us the quietly raging stoner anthem “False Spring,” aka the opener from their third album Song Of The Pearl. “Destroying To Save,” the lead track from fourth album The Gathering, feels more like fall. I’ve spent most of my time listening to the gorgeous guitar sound and stately vintage psych pacing, but we’re told the album was inspired by Dave Heumann’s reading of Carl Jung’s The Red Book, so don’t light up and check out just yet.

Arbouretum – “Destroying To Save”

The Gathering:

01 “The White Bird
02 “When Delivery Comes”
03 “Destroying to Save”
04 “Highwayman”
05 “Waxing Crescents”
06 “The Empty Shell”
07 “Song of the Nile”

An acoustic take on the collection’s “When Delivery Comes.”

The Gathering is out 2/15 via Thrill Jockey. Arbouretum will be touring the States in February and March before heading to Europe.

Tags: Arbouretum