R.E.M. – “IHT>U>EDIYTW” (Variations From Collapse Into Now)

The airy, ambient so-called “IHT>U>EDIYTW (Dubmix)” is an instrumental mix of three songs from R.E.M.’s forthcoming fifteenth studio album Collapse Into Now. Using the tracklist as a decoder, we can assume the “dubmix”-ed songs are “It Happened Today,” “Uberlin,” and “Every Day Is Yours to Win.” Remember, the album version of “It Happened” features Eddie Vedder. Take a listen, write your own vocal lines:

The Collapse Into Now tracklist:

01 “Discoverer”
02 “All the Best”
03 “Uberlin”
04 “Oh My Heart”
05 “It Happened Today” (Feat. Eddie Vedder)
06 “Every Day Is Yours to Win”
07 “Mine Smell Like Honey”
08 “Walk It Back”
09 “Alligator Aviator Autopilot Antimatter” (Feat. Peaches & Lenny Kaye)
10 “That Someone Is You”
11 “Me, Marlon Brando, Marlon Brando and I”
12 “Blue” (Feat. Patti Smith)

It’s the holiday season. Last year, for their annual holiday single, R.E.M. tackled Collapse guest Lenny Kaye’s “Crazy Like a Fox” plus “Santa Baby.” This year, the guys (and friends) cover Darlene Love’s “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home).” They reunited with Bill Berry for it, another annual tradition:

(Both embeds via Cover Me)

[Band photo by Anton Corbijn]

Tags: R.E.M.