Hype Williams – “The Throning” & “Untitled”

Not that guy. This Hype Williams is the sneaky, lo-fi, dubbed (and weeded)-out, art world-ready electro/bedroom-based project of London’s D. Blunt (aka Roy Blunt aka Roy Nnawuchi) and Estonia’s Inga Copeland (aka Karen Glass?). Like a number of young artists, or people acting like young artists, they live between London and Berlin. Their second (and first widely released, not limited to 300 copies) full-length, The Real World-referencing Find Out What Happens When People Stop Being Polite, And Start Gettin’ Reel, made its way into the world as a disconnected series of YouTube clips. Their approach reminds me of a scruffier take on Salem pal Stalker, especially in “Untitled (Andrea Lopez),” or a sketchier, less elegant oOoOO (or CREEP or etc). It isn’t refined: I’m assuming people who hate Salem will hate Hype Williams, though not everyone who likes Salem will like Hype Williams. I like their dissembling approach, rumor mongering: Their press release mentions that Joss Stone financed the making of the record, that they’re “part of an 18 year relay project thought up by a lady named Denna Frances Glass. Their official statement about the album? “ritolin (sic) and rama lama 555 (sic).” Get a sense of the sound via “The Throning” and one of their various “Untitled” tracks. Listen with headphones.

Hype Williams – “The Throning”
Hype Williams – “Untitled”

Find Out…

01 “Rescue Dawn”
02 “Untitled (Andrea Lopez)”
03 “Blue Dream”
04 “The Throning”
05 “Untitled”
06 “Jesus To A Child”
07 “Jesus To A Child”
08 “Rescue Dawn 3″
09 “Jesus To A Child Reprise”
10 “Untitled”

Find Out What Happens When People Stop Being Polite, And Start Gettin’ Reel is out via De Stijl. To get a sense of those videos, here’s album opener “Rescue Dawn.”

“Blue Dream”:

More a/v at pollyjacobson.

Hype Wililams Promo 2010