JT, MCR Sweep MTV VMA Noms

We’re still over an hour away from MTV’s Video Music Award reveal, scheduled to go down live on TRL. Is that thing still hosted by Jesse Camp? OK, we’re a bit out of touch when it comes to MTV (though not Lauren Conrad, strangely). But we do know a few things. No one will win “Best Post Modern Video.” Bette Midler will not host. And the show will be broadcast but once. (After that, we’ll have to settle for watching highlights on every blog and video-sharing network.) So yeah, a lot like last year. Except in Vegas.

As you can tell from the post title, we’re trying to stick out of the pack of sad music bloggers by inventing nominees before they’re even announced. Who else? You tell us. Hmm. That sexy umbrella commercial is pretty popular.

Now we present 22 years in the history of Video Of The Year. If a banned clip can end up winning top honors, maybe there’s hope for a Tay Zonday upset after all!

1984 The Cars – “You Might Think”
1985 Don Henley – “The Boys of Summer”
1986 Dire Straits – “Money for Nothing”
1987 Peter Gabriel – “Sledgehammer”
1988 INXS – “Need You Tonight/Mediate”
1989 Neil Young – “This Note’s for You”
1990 Sinéad O’Connor – “Nothing Compares 2 U”
1991 R.E.M. – “Losing My Religion”
1992 Van Halen – “Right Now”
1993 Pearl Jam – “Jeremy”
1994 Aerosmith – “Cryin'”
1995 TLC – “Waterfalls”
1996 The Smashing Pumpkins – “Tonight, Tonight”
1997 Jamiroquai – “Virtual Insanity”
1998 Madonna – “Ray of Light”
1999 Lauryn Hill – “Doo Wop (That Thing)”
2000 Eminem – “The Real Slim Shady”
2001 Christina Aguilera, Lil’ Kim, Mýa and Pink – “Lady Marmalade”
2002 Eminem – “Without Me”
2003 Missy Elliott – “Work It”
2004 OutKast – “Hey Ya!”
2005 Green Day – “Boulevard of Broken Dreams”
2006 Panic! At The Disco – “I Write Sins Not Tragedies”