Akron/Family – “So It Goes” Video (Stereogum Premiere)

Playful Portland/New York experimental folk-rock trio Akron/Family’s new album ST II: The Cosmic Birth And Journey Of Shinju TNT was recorded in an abandoned train station in Detroit with the help of Chris Koltay. We’re also told, outside leaking demos:

Akron/Family spent the end of 2009 and half of 2010 exploring the future of sound through Bent Acid Punk Diamond fuzz and Underground Japanese noise cassettes, lower case micro tone poems and emotional Cagean field recordings, rebuilding electronic drums from the 70’s and playing them with sticks they carved themselves.

That gives you an idea of what to expect on ST II. As does the meta video-within-a-video-within-a-video Tommy Yasuhara-directed clip for “So It Goes.”

The single:

Akron/Family – “So It Goes”

The album:

01 “Silly Bears”
02 “Island”
03 “A AAA O A WAY”
04 “So It Goes”
05 “Another Sky”
06 “Light Emerges”
07 “Cast a Net”
08 “Tatsuya Neon Purple Walkby”
09 “Fuji I (Global Dub)”
10 “Say What You Want To”
11 “Fuji II (Single Pane)”
12 “Canopy”
13 “Creator”

ST II: The Cosmic Birth And Journey Of Shinju TNT is out 2/8 via Dead Oceans. They’ve put together a bunch of free Cosmic Birth listening parties this weekend. They’re happening coast to coast, so check out Dead Oceans to see if anything’s happening in your city. If not, the San Diego party’s doing a live video webcast. You can log into that one over here. Or just stare at the cover:

Akron/Family - S/T II

If you’re not an Akron/Family fan, remember M. Gira said he was inspired to reconstitute Swans while the A/F guys were joining him in a particularly loud moment as his Angels Of Light backing band.