PLUG – “Body Story” Video (Stereogum Premiere)

PLUG, the locked-groove London post-punk duo of Sian Dorrer (vocals and drums) and Georgie Nettell (bass, keys and vocals), is releasing a self-titled full-length debut in the States next week. It’s a smart, varied, weird collection — imagine a female Suicide (or Silver Apples) deeply influenced by glitch and hip-hop and sporting a Situationist-style political bent (plus a Dennis Cooper-style love song). Or, sometimes I think of Life Without Buildings and call it a day. The Charles Chintzer Lai-directed video for standout “Body Story” works as a good intro to at least one element of the sound, as well as PLUG’s approach: Their bio mentions a sort of “detachment from the subject matter [that] allows them an implicit critique on the attitudes espoused, our attitudes.”

“Body Story”:

PLUG – “Body Story”

The tracklist:

01 “Intro”
02 “Don’t Forget It”
03 “You Keep The Beats”
04 “Body Story”
05 “Man Vs Machine”
06 “Faces Of Diversity”
07 “Sexy Coma”
08 “Real Girl”
09 “Money Loves Drugs Fame”
10 “Day Tripper”
11 “Attractive”

PLUG is out 1/18 via Upset The Rhythm. Look for a complete album remix by Hype Williams. I look forward to that. The cheeky (“ego ideal”-ized?) cover: