New Sonic Youth – “Calming The Snake” (Live In Chile)

Can’t promise this clip to offer a clear line on the lyrical schemes at play on The Eternal (try the album excerpt collage or Thurston’s admission of black metal inspiration), because it is fan-made and far, but those seeking sonic insight will be satisfied. According to a YouTube commenter they played this song in Milan 9/10/2008, but it was called “Mars” then, and we’re all about FIRST!1!, so technically this performance in Chile on Sunday was the the live debut of “Calming The Snake.” Lee grooves; Kim screams, preaches, and coos; Thurston goes dissonant, scrapes harmonics, windmills and broods; we remain optimistic about the new Sonic Youth album.

“Calming The Snake (Live In Chile 3/29/09)

The setlist also included The Eternal’s “Sacred Trickster,” which YouTube hasn’t turned up yet. The setlist:

01 “Teenage Riot”
02 “Bull In The Heather”
03 “Incinerate”
04 “Hey Joni”
05 “The Sprawl”
06 “Cross The Breeze”
07 “Schizophrenia”
08 “Calming The Snake”
09 “100%”
10 “Jams Run Free”
11 “Mote”
12 “Kool Thing”
13 “Pink Steam”
14 “The Burning Spear”
15 “Sacred Trickster”
16 “Silver Rocket”
17 “Shaking Hell”
18 “Expressway to Yr Skull”

The Eternal is out 6/9 via Matador.

Tags: Sonic Youth