Dean And Gene Ween Set To Unleash La Cucaracha

The brothers Ween have have already fed us Chocolate And Cheese, Pure Guava, White Pepper, and helpings of “Pollo Asado” and “Pork Roll Egg and Cheese” …. Well, Dean and Gene are back with a promise of Latin prog, porn rock, and David Sanborn’s sax on the less-than-food-y La Cucaracha, their first album in four years (and first for Rounder).

We can totally remember eating corn ships and pumping our fists to God Ween Satan: The Oneness when we were knee-high to a grasshopper, so it’s amazing that those assumed burn-outs who rocked, rolled, and goaded us with “Tick,” “You Fucked Up,” “Fat Lenny,” “Papa Zit,” and “Don’t Laugh (I Love You)” are on their ninth studio album in more than twenty years time. Jesus!

And how about the move to Rounder? Speaking for the band, Dean notes, “I always wanted to be on the same label that put out all those early George Thorogood records and now I am!” Good. The album was recorded “in a moldy 200 year-old farmhouse” in the boys’ New Hope, PA stomping grounds. We’re glad they haven’t left the old ‘hood and muse; though, the band will tour soon in support of the album. Dates to come! For now, peep the tracklist after the jump.

Seems like someone’s been drinking from the Fountain Of Youth.

La Cucaracha Track List
01 “Fiesta”
02 “Blue Balloon”
03 “Friends”
04 “Object”
05 “Learnin To Love”
06 “With My Own Bare Hands”
07 “The Fruit Man”
08 “Spirit Walker”
09 “Shamemaker”
10 “Sweetheart”
11 “Lullaby”
12 “Woman And Man”
13 “Your Party”

La Cucaracha is out 10/23 on Rounder.

Tags: Ween