Belong – “Perfect Life”

Five years after releasing the gorgeous (gauzy, static, loose, ghostly) October Language, the New Orleans shoegaze duo Belong take a more concrete “song”-based, icily propulsive rock ‘n’ roll course complete with regular vocals on their sophomore full-length Common Era. The same overall mood, texture, and sensibility remain, casting interesting patterns and shadows on the earlier collection. The direction was hinted at on 2008’s Colorloss Record EP, is fully realized across these nine submerged psychedelic transmissions. Get a taste with “Perfect Life.”

01 “Come See”
02 “Never Came Close”
03 “A Walk”
04 “Perfect Life”
05 “Keep Still”
06 “Different Heart”
07 “Make Me Return”
08 “Common Era”
09 “Very Careful”

Common Era is out 3/21 via Kranky.

Tags: Belong