New R.E.M. Live Video – “Leaving New York”

R.E.M. enthusiasts know Stipe & Co. have been fond of Dublin lately: This year the Athenians have been camped there (and in Vancouver) with Jacknife Lee, working out the kinks and getting sessions going for studio LP14. Earlier this summer, the R.E.M.ers unveiled new tunes at Dublin’s Olympia Theater for a series of five “Working Rehearsal” gigs, their only shows this year. And earlier still, the band played two nights of the hits in the city in Feb ’05 which were recorded for a live CD/DVD release, coming down the pike next month. Around The Sun’s “Leaving New York” is the advance listen/peek, boasting multiple cam-angles, artily blurred jump-cut transitions, and Michael beautifully lamenting his NYC departure while rocking a face-painted eyemask. Like he says, it’s never easy…

No date attached to LP14 yet, unfortunately, but we can tell ya that the R.E.M. Live CD + DVD are out 10/16. Check the tracklist…

01 “I Took Your Name”
02 “So Fast, So Numb”
03 “Boy in the Well”
04 “Cuyahoga”
05 “Everybody Hurts”
06 “Electron Blue”
07 “Bad Day”
08 “Ascent of Man”
09 “The Great Beyond”
10 “Leaving New York”
11 “Orange Crush”
12 “I Wanted to Be Wrong”
13 “Final Straw”
14 “Imitation of Life”
15 “The One I Love”
16 “Walk Unafraid”
17 “Losing My Religion”
18 “What’s the Frequency, Kenneth?”
19 “Drive”
20 “(Don’t Go Back To) Rockville”
21 “I’m Gonna DJ”
22 “Man on the Moon”

Tags: R.E.M.