Laurel Halo Remixes Extra Life

Occasionally overlooked New York BTW Extra Life have trimmed down to a saxophone-free trio and are set to release a more electronic-leaning four-song vinyl/digital EP, Ripped Heart. It was produced beautifully by Colin Marston (Krallice, Gorguts, etc.). In additional to the vinyl, there are four bonus remix tracks by Laurel Halo, Xiu Xiu, Former Ghosts, and Brooklyn black metal punks Liturgy. Laurel Halo’s remix of “Strong Brother, Weak Brother” demolishes the anthemic, surprisingly poppy original and finds a pretty lift-off in the rubble.

Extra Life – “Strong Brother, Weak Brother (Laurel Halo Remix)”

The title track:

Ripped Heart:
01 “Strong Brother, Weak Brother”
02 “Run Cold”
03 “Ripped Heart”
04 “Elegy (cartoon piano)”

Bonus Remixes:
05 “Elegy (Liturgy Remix)”
06 “Ripped Heart (Xiu Xiu Remix)”
07 “Run Cold (Former Ghosts Remix)”
08 “Strong Brother, Weak Brother (Laurel Halo Remix)”

Ripped Heart’s out digitally and as a vinyl LP on 4/5 via Charlie Looker’s new label Last Things. (LOAF’s handling the digital version in Europe.) In addition to his time in Extra Life, Looker’s performing shows with his other project Seaven Tears and in past remixer Tyondai Braxton’s upcoming orchestral shows at Lincoln Center and Walker Arts. A couple proper Extra Life shows:

03/18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Death By Audio #
04/01 – Brooklyn, NY @ Bruar Falls (Ripped Heart EP release party) %

# w/ Zs Black Crown Ceremony, and Noveller
% w/ Starring, Hume and TBA

In April they’re heading to Europe. In July expect a month-long tour with Parenthetical Girls.