Haunting The Chapel

Maruta – “Solace Through Self Annihilation” (Stereogum Premiere)

Earlier this week Maruta vocalist Mitchell Luna passed along a copy of his band’s sophomore album Forward Into Regression, a blistering 16-song, 30-minute collection of heady, technical Miami death/punk-inflected grindcore. Since 2008’s In Narcosis they’ve added a bassist, which gives guitarist Eduardo Borja more space and freedom to go off/crazy. As far as other shakeups, old drummer Nick Augusto left in 2009 to join Trivium, a band Maruta sound nothing like, but that should give you a sense of the quartet’s chops. Take a listen to Forward standout “Solace Through Self Annihilation,” though you should really consume the thing — one of my favorite grind albums in ages — in one giant lurching, pummeling, at times patient and doom-y swoop.

Maruta – “Solace Through Self Annihilation”

01 “March Forward (Into Regression)”
02 “Strain”
03 “Plague Domain”
04 “Stagnation Routine”
05 “Devoid of Allegiance”
06 “Drown In Black Matter”
07 “Body Weapon”
08 “Swine Swallower”
09 “Conform to Deform”
10 “Etched in Granite”
11 “Salient”
12 “Solace Through Self Annihilation”
13 “Hand Of The Overseer”
14 “Failure King”
15 “Gaiares”
16 “Blood Of The Luddite”

Forward Into Regression is out 3/8 via Willowtip. You can order it now and check out two additional songs — opener “March Forward (Into Regression)” and “Hand Of the Overseer” — at Willowtip. Keep watch for updates at Facebook.

Maruta Promo 2011

Tags: Maruta