Battles – “Ice Cream”

Vocalist/guitarist/etc. Tyondai Braxton left Battles to work on his solo orchestral and otherwise compositions, so for second full-length Gloss Drop, the remaining trio of Ian Williams, Dave Konopka, and master drummer John Stanier added guests vocalists, including Chilean-born, Kompakt-associated techno producer/singer/DJ Matias Aguayo. He gives it a go on sunny, funky “Ice Cream,” the most immediate pop song of the lot.


01 “Africastle”
02 “Ice Cream” (Feat. Matias Aguayo)
03 “Futura”
04 “Inchworm”
05 “Wall Street”
06 “My Machines” (Feat. Gary Numan)
07 “Dominican Fade”
08 “Sweetie & Shag” (Feat. Kazu Makino)
09 “Toddler”
10 “Rolls Bayce”
11 “White Electric”
12 “Sundome” (Feat. Yamantaka Eye)

Gloss Drop is out 6/7 via Warp.

Tags: Battles