2009 Austin City Limits Line-Up Offers Pearl Jam, Dave Matthews Band, Beastie Boys In Case You Missed Them The First Time

As festival-lineup announcement season (yes, it’s its own season now) continues, the most entertaining game to play with respect to headliners is “What year is this, 1991?” I thought Lolla had it wrapped with their zeitgeist grabbing spread of Tool, Jane’s Addiction, Beastie Boys, and Depeche Mode, and congrats Lolla the award is still yours. But “What Year Is This, 1996?” edition is all ACL. Call it nostalgia, call it apparently this generation is incapable of turning out a headliner in the eyes of festival promoters, call it what you will: If you slept through the ’90s, you should be going to festivals in 2009. Sniping (and Thievery Corporation, Toadies, The B-52s, etc.) aside, for their part the ACL folks have kept up on contemporary artists, too: the undercard sports the Dead Weather, BTW Suckers, Phoenix, Bon Iver, Passion Pit, Here We Go Magic, the Decemberists, Andrew Bird, Girl Talk, Grizzly Bear, the Walkmen, Blitzen Trapper, and welcome vets Sonic Youth, Mos Def, and so on. The festival goes down October 2-4 in Austin’s Zilker Park with three-day passes available for $185 at aclfestival.com. The full lineup:

Pearl Jam
Dave Matthews Band
Beastie Boys
Kings of Leon
Ben Harper and Relentless7
Thievery Corporation
John Legend
The Dead Weather
The Levon Helm Band
Ghostland Observatory
Sonic Youth
Mos Def
Flogging Molly
The B-52s
Lily Allen
Citizen Cope
Arctic Monkeys
The Decemberists
Coheed and Cambria
Andrew Bird
Girl Talk
STS9 (Sound Tribe Sector 9)
Bon Iver
The Avett Brothers
The Airborne Toxic Event
Medeski, Martin & Wood
Michael Franti & Spearhead
Grizzly Bear
Heartless Bastards
Passion Pit
White Lies
Dan Auerbach
The Walkmen
The Scabs
Reckless Kelly
Blitzen Trapper
The Virgins
Here We Go Magic
K’ Naan
Asleep at the Wheel
Dr. Dog
The Raveonettes
The Knux
Black Joe Lewis & the Honeybears
State Radio
Los Amigos Invisibles
The Felice Brothers
Federico Aubele
Raul Malo
Daniel Johnston
Poi Dog Pondering
Brett Dennen
Henry Butler
Preservation Hall
Sam Roberts Band
The Greencards
Sara Watkins
Walter “Wolfman” Washington
David Garza
John Vanderslice
Zac Brown Band
Todd Snider
School of Seven Bells
The Dodos
Robyn Hitchcock and the Venus 3
Alberta Cross
Deer Tick
Bell X1
Alela Diane
The Wood Brothers
The Parlor Mob
Rebirth Brass Band
Marva Wright
Terri Hendrix
Lisa Hannigan
The Low Anthem
Sons of Bill
Sarah Jaffe
Cotton Jones
The Henry Clay People
Papa Mali
Vince Mira
Jonathan Tyler & the Northern Lights
Mimicking Birds
Jeffrey Steele
Jonell Mosser
Keith Gattis
Damien Horne
Sarah Siskind
Danny Brooks
Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band
The Soul Stirrers
The Durdens
Palm School Elementary
The Gospel Silvertones
Quinn Sullivan
Ralph’s World
Q Brothers
Telephone Company
Loose Cannons
Lunch Money