New Iron & Wine – “Homeward These Shoes” (Stereogum Premiere)

Iron & Wine’s Around The Well is a double CD (and triple LP) compilation of rarities, etc., due out next month. It spans the earliest recordings from The Creek Drank the Cradle’s era up to The Shepherd’s Dog. The first disc is made up of unedited, quiet solo home recordings; the second disc features studio tracks. You’ll spot covers of the Flaming Lips’ “Waitin’ For A Superman” and New Order’s “Love Vigilantes,” too. Hardcore fans will likely be familiar with the majority of the tracklist, but as far as we can tell the brief, thin-soled, but soulful “Homeward These Shoes” is one you haven’t heard before. The track, which feels like some sort of traditional spiritual though it isn’t, was written for the film In Good Company, as were other Around The Well tracks “The Trapeze Swinger,” “Belated Promise Ring,” and “God Made the Automobile.” The epic “The Trapeze Swinger” was included on the soundtrack and the other two, while not in the movie, have been heard in Iron & Wine’s live sets. We have the tracklist, the album art, a stream of the aforementioned “Homeward These Shoes,” plus an MP3 of “The Trapeze Swinger” to give to your loved one. It’s the song that gave the compilation it’s name.

Around The Well’s closer, Twilight fans.

Iron And Wine – “The Trapeze Swinger” (MP3)

Around The Well is out 5/19 via Sub Pop. The order of things:

01 “Dearest Forsaken”
02 “Morning”
03 “Loud as Hope”
04 “Peng! 33″
05 “Sacred Vision”
06 “Friends They Are Jewels”
07 “Hickory”
08 “Waitin’ for a Superman”
09 “Swans and the Swimming”
10 “Call Your Boys”
11 “Such Great Heights”
12 “Communion Cups and Someone’s Coat”
13 “Belated Promise Ring”
14 “God Made the Automobile”
15 “Homeward These Shoes”
16 “Love Vigilantes”
17 “Sinning Hands”
18 “No Moon”
19 “Serpent Charmer”
20 “Carried Home”
21 “Kingdom of the Animals”
22 “Arms of a Thief”
23 “The Trapeze Swinger”

In celebration of the compilation, Sam’s doing a number of associated Iron & Wine Around The Well instores. All are free and all ages. We’re including the itinerary with each store’s specific instructions to make sure you know the system.

05/05 – Seattle, WA @ Sonic Boom (Capitol Hill) 6:00PM
“Entrance to instore will be on a first come, first serve basis. A line will form outside of store.”

05/07 – San Francisco, CA @ Aquarius Records 6:00PM
“Entrance to instore will be on a first come, first serve basis. Out of respect for the store’s neighbors, we are unable to allow anyone to hang out in front of the store during the instore.”

05/10 – Long Beach, CA @ Fingerprints 4:00PM
“Entrance to instore secured by pre-ordering Around The Well via Fingerprints (in-person or over the phone (not online)). More info will be provided when you place your pre-order. Pre-ordering open now. Once enough RSVPs have been received to fill the room’s capacity, the event will be ‘sold out.'”

05/19 – New York, NY @ Other Music 9:00PM
“Entrance to instore secured by pre-ordering the Around The Well via Other Music (in-person or online (not over the phone)). Pre-ordering begins Friday, May 1, 2009, 12:00 Noon (EST). One (1) ‘ticket’ per purchase. Limit two (2) ‘tickets’ per person. Receipt and photo ID required for entrance (save your receipt!). Once enough pre-orders have been placed to fill the room’s capacity, the event will be ‘sold out.'”

And, finally, look for an album of new Material in the Spring of 2010. That’s all the Iron & Wine news I have…