Wilco (The Album) Is Wilco’s New Album Title

Rolling Stone reports that Wilco’s seventh album will be titled Wilco (The Album). If you recall, we posted “Wilco (The Song)” when they stopped by Colbert a ways back, so maybe we should’ve been detectives and guessed the straightforward generic branding. Nah, as RS reports, they break concept on the rest of the tracklist:

One Wing” and “Sunny Feeling” are breezy, pop-friendly tunes; “Deeper Down” is a mellow ballad spiked with atmospherics and chamber strings; the nearly-six-minute jam “Bull Black Nova” starts with rollicking drums, stacatto keys and guitars before exploding into a killer solo from guitarist Nels Cline. Think of the it as a sonic follow-up to the kraut-rockin’ “Spiders (Kidsmoke).” “That one’s a really intense, powerful song,” says Kotche of “Nova.” “It’s got a static groove that’s really insistent. There’s a lot of great guitar moments on that song.”

One thing RS doesn’t note is that “You And I” will ostensibly feature Feist. While you try imagining what all of this will sound like, why not take another look at “Wilco (The Song),” so you can sing along at Bonnaroo?

As previously menioned, Wilco (The Album) will be out via Nonesuch in June.

Tags: Wilco