VHS Or Beta Remix My Morning Jacket

When My Morning Jacket released Evil Urges, “Highly Suspicious” immediately stood out from the rest of the track list with its disco falsetto, group chain-gang vocalisms, and, most of all, its peanut butter pudding surprise. It’s no surprise (sorry) VHS Or Beta chose the song for their remixing purposes: It was already halfway to being a Nitzer Ebb-style dance-floor anthem. The transformation’s now complete and can be experienced in all its glory thanks to the Causes 2 compilation, Waxploitation’s second compilation to benefit Darfur. The collection also includes Black Moth Super Rainbow, Devendra Banhart, Diplo, Gnarls Barkley, LCD Soundsystem, and the Decemberists, among others. Check out the tracklist while you listen to the “Highly Suspicious (VHS OR BETA DeeJays Remix)” and mull Jim James’ potential as a rug-cutting diva.

Who else does what:

01 Black Moth Super Rainbow – “Happy Melted City”
02 The Decemberists – “After The Bombs” (Live Version)
03 Devendra Banhart – “White Reggae Troll”
04 Diplo – “Wassup Wassup (Exclusive Samim Remix)”
05 Federico Aubele – “Luna y Sol”
06 Gnarls Barkley – “Mystery Man”
07 LCD Soundsystem – “Starry Eyes Original” (Causes exclusive)
08 My Morning Jacket – “Highly Suspicious (VHS Or Beta Dee Jays Remix)”
09 Matthew Dear – “When She Don’t Need Me” (Exclusive)
10 mum – “Asleep In A Hiding Place”
11 Neon Neon – “I Lust U (DJ Eli Escobar Remix)”
12 Richard Swift – “Wastin’ M’time”
13 RJD2 – “Wherever (Instrumental)”
14 Sharon Jones & Dap-Kings – “It Hurts To Be Alone”
15 Tim & Eric Feat. Sylvia Gordon – “Petite Feet (Exclusive Devlin & Ghostdad Remix)”

Causes 2 is out in May via Waxploitation. 100% of the profits go to Human Rights Watch, Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) and Oxfam America.

UPDATE: Stream the whole comp below…