The Strokes & Elvis Costello @ Madison Square Garden 4/1/11 – “Taken For A Fool”

Before the Strokes even took the stage for their sold-out show headlining MSG, their concert took over NYC Twitter feeds with Elvis Costello’s surprise opening set of “Pump It Up,” “Radio Radio,” and “(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace Love And Understanding.” The Garden was reportedly (i.e. retweetedly) enthralled. Given the date, those posts were helpfully tagged #notAprilsFools. And given the date, it’s pretty great Elvis came back to join the Strokes on the song that he did: “Taken For A Fool”‘s hook takes a hook out of his songbook, so he’s right at home on it, and it’s “For A Fool,” which is just what you want on 4/1/11. Watch, enviously:

And here’s some great video of the show-closing “Take It Or Leave it,” with Julian making his way deep into GA, taken by the happiest girl in the room, Miss Modern Age:

If there are any Strokes fans stowing away in an MSG broom closet until LCD tonight, they’re making it through by replaying every moment of this setlist. And not thinking of waterfalls. Via

01 “Is This It”
02 “Reptilia”
03 “Under Cover Of Darkness”
04 “Hard To Explain”
05 “Last Nite”
06 “Juicebox”
07 “Someday”
08 “You’re So Right”
09 “Under Control”
10 “You Only Live Once”
11 “New York City Cops”
12 “Games”
13 “Whatever Happened”
14 “Taken For A Fool” (w/ Elvis Costello)
15 “Ask Me Anything” (Guitar version)
16 “Modern Age”
17 “Gratisfaction”
18 “I Can’t Win”
19 “Take It Or Leave It”

[Photo via]