Blood Orange – “Sutphin Boulevard”

Dev Hynes’s Blood Orange project sees a proper full-length debut release via Domino this summer, following various mixtapes and 7″s. “Sutphin Boulevard” has been kicking around in demo form for awhile now and is the first free MP3 from the forthcoming Coastal Grooves LP. Where previous BO material paid homage to 808-era dance music and Prince, the label’s identified “Chris Isaak, Billy Idol, 80’s Japanese pop such as Yellow Magic Orchestra and French singer F.R David” as reference points for the new stuff, some of which you can hear on “Sutphin”:

Blood Orange – “Sutphin Boulevard”

Coastal Grooves is out 8/8 via Domino. Pre-order it here.

01 “Forget It”
02 “Sutphin Boulevard”
03 “I’m Sorry We Lied”
04 “Can We Go Inside Now?”
05 “S’cooled”
06 “Complete Failure”
07 “Instantly Blank (The Goodness)”
08 “The Complete Knock”
09 “Are You Sure You’re Really Busy?”
10 “Champagne Coast”

Here’s the video for “Dinner,” featuring Frankie Rose, Lemonade, Apache Beat, Rewards, and more.

Tags: Blood Orange