Spank Rock – “Energy”

Going on five years after the release of the masterfully produced, Björk and Yorke beloved Yoyoyoyoyoyo, Naeem Juwon revives the Spank Rock name for a new LP due this fall. It’s titled Everything Is Boring And Everyone Is A Fucking Liar, which sounds like the sort of thing you call an album after the five year tour of parties, afterparties, and hotel lobbies it seems Naeem’s been on since that last album. (Also during those years: Bangers And Cash, work with Amanda Blank and Santigold, random onstage televised collab with Robyn, and recently the conceptual coke-rap album Mobroder.)

Yo was released on Big Dada before Downtown picked up the act; this new one sees Spank back in the ranks of the indies, releasing via the band-run Bad Blood Records. And where that last effort was exquisitely produced by just one producer, the Brooklyn-based XXXChange returns only for one track, with most production duties handled by Boys Noize and Spank Rock in addition to single-shot offerings from the Neptunes’ Pharrell, Squeak E. Clean from N.A.S.A., and Chris Rockswell. While we’re listing LP credits, there are cameos from Santigold (“Car Song”) and Big Freedia (“Nasty”).

You can grab the first MP3 “Energy,” which samples Can’s “Vitamin C” and is produced by Boys Noize,” for the price of an email:

Everything Is Boring And Everyone Is A Fucking Liar is out 9/13 via Bad Blood.

Tags: Spank Rock