She & Him – “Oh Boy” (Buddy Holly Cover) (Stereogum Premiere)

Buddy Holly died a young man, but left an indelible mark on 20th century songwriting. This summer’s covers compilation Rave On Buddy Holly is the latest tribute to the pop icon, tapping everyone from Paul McCartney and Lou Reed to My Morning Jacket and Modest Mouse to take liberties with Holly’s songbook. (Other Rave On takes we’ve heard so far: Black Keys, Julian Casablancas, and Fiona Apple + Jon Brion.) Today it is Zooey Deschanel & M. Ward aka She & Him doing the covering, a logical inclusion on this roster for their evident interest in resurrecting that dusty, earnest melodic approach of the Holly era in their own material. “Oh Boy” was their choice, and they kept it relatively true. Hear it:

She And Him – “Oh Boy” (Buddy Holly Cover)

Rave On Buddy Holly is out 6/28 via Fantasy/Concord.

01 Dearest – The Black Keys
02 Every Day – Fiona Apple & Jon Brion
03 It’s So Easy – Paul McCartney
04 Not Fade Away – Florence + The Machine
05 (You’re So Square) Baby, I Don’t Care – Cee Lo Green
06 Crying, Waiting, Hoping – Karen Elson
07 Rave On – Julian Casablancas
08 I’m Gonna Love You Too – Jenny O.
09 Maybe Baby – Justin Townes Earle
10 Oh Boy – She & Him
11 Changing All Those Changes – Nick Lowe
12 Words Of Love – Patti Smith
13 True Love Ways – My Morning Jacket
14 That’ll Be The Day – Modest Mouse
15 Well…All Right – Kid Rock
16 Heartbeat -The Detroit Cobras
17 Peggy Sue – Lou Reed
18 Peggy Sue Got Married – John Doe
19 Raining In My Heart – Graham Nash