Ganglians – “Sleep” (Stereogum Premiere)

The first taste of Ganglians’s Robby Moncrieff-produced double LP Still Living came courtesy of “Jungle“‘s echo-chamber psychedelia. (For some reason, its atmosphere made me think of Tiny Tim.) The second single, “Sleep,” comes immediately before it on the record. As the title suggests it is indeed sleepy, but with meaty multi-color explosions, a gentle late-song build, and an Elvis Costello enunciation hiding in the haze. Listen:

Ganglians – “Sleep”

Still Living:

01 “Drop The Act”
02 “That’s What I Want”
03 “Evil Weave”
04 “Sleep”
05 “Jungle”
06 “Bradley”
07 “Things To Know”
08 “Good Times”
09 “The Toad”
10 “California Cousins”
11 “Faster”
12 “My House”

Still Living is out 8/23 via Lefse.

Ganglians 2011
[Band Photo by Jan Rasmus Voss]

Tags: Ganglians