New Octopus Project – “Wet Gold”

Austin quartet the Octopus Project’s new project, the forthcoming Golden Beds EP, hits the middle of next month. (The collection’s enhanced, which means it’ll include videos as well.) It’s the band’s official followup to 2007’s Hello, Avalanche. If you’re talking Golden Beds you may not want to think about “Wet Gold,” but it’s the lead track, so we must: It’s an upbeat, layered song with various voices, bells, instrumental accents, and handclaps blending into one forward motion. The melodies might remind you of old timers like Versus immersed within a more twee (and electro-entwined) backdrop. The group’s touring in support of the collection. So far there are a few June dates, though it looks like we should expect more, including some appearances where they’ll perform “Visual Music,” aka a multi-media extravaganza. For now, here they are in one medium.

The Octopus Project – “Wet Gold” (MP3)

The Golden Beds Enhanced EP is out 7/14 via Peek-A-Boo. The songs:

01 “Wet Gold”
02 “Moon Boil”
03 “Rorol”
04 “Wood Trumpet”
05 “Half a Nice Day”

The Videos:

01 “Wet Gold” (Dir. Zellner Bros.)
02 “I Saw The Bright Shinies” (Dir. Divya Srinivasan)
03 “An Evening With Rthrtha” (Dir. Double Triple & Ryan Junell)
04 “Truck” (Dir. Zellner Bros.)
05 “Music Is Happiness” (Dir Nick Smith)
06 “Exit Counselor” (Dir. Toto Miranda)
07 “Truck” (live at the Austin City Limits Festival 2008)

The tour:

06/25 – Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon
06/26 – Birmingham, AL @ Bottle Tree
06/27 – Knoxville, TN @ Pilot Light
06/28 – Louisville, KY (film show)
06/29 – Memphis, TN @ Hi tone
06/30 – Norman, OK @ Opolis
07/04 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s #

# w/ Explosions in the Sky, The Wooden Birds