New Thom Yorke – “All For The Best” (Stereogum Premiere)

When we posted the tracklist and background information for Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy, we hadn’t heard anybody’s contributions. As we said then, the compilation’s 21-track lineup is impressive, the reason behind it — the sudden death of Mulcahy’s wife Melissa (pictured), leaving him to raise his three-year old twins alone — heartbreaking. Now, going beyond the names next to the contributions, we can report that the opening track, Thom Yorke’s percussive, electro-tinged cover of Miracle Legion’s “All For The Best,” is also impressive. He didn’t mail it in, making it his own, while retaining the spirit of the original. As a result, fans of Radiohead, Miracle Legion, and Mulcahy should equally enjoy.

Indeed that is his brother Andy on backing vocals. A contextual refresher:

01 Thom Yorke – “All For The Best”
02 The National – “Ashamed Of The Story I Told”
03 Michael Stipe – “Everything’s Coming Undone”
04 David Berkeley – “Loves The Only Thing That Shuts Me Up”
05 Dinosaur Jr. – “The Backyard”
06 Chris Harford & Mr Ray Neal – “Micon The Icon”
07 Frank Black – “Bill Jocko”
08 Vic Chesnutt – “Little Man”
09 Unbelievable Truth – “Ciao My Shining Star”
10 Butterflies Of Love – “I Have Patience”
11 Chris Collingwood (Fountains Of Wayne) – “Cookie Jar”
12 Frank Turner – “The Quiet One”
13 Rocket From The Tombs – “In Pursuit Of Your Happiness”
14 Ben Kweller – “Wake Up Whispering”
15 Josh Rouse – “I Woke Up In The Mayflower”
16 Autumn Defense – “Paradise”
17 Hayden -“Happy Birthday Yesterday”
18 Juliana Hatfield – “We’re Not In Charleston Anymore”
19 Mercury Rev – “Sailors And Animals”
20 Elvis Perkins – “She Watches Over Me”
21 Sean Watkins – “A World Away From This One”

Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy is out 9/29 via Shout! Factory. It can be pre-ordered at Amazon. An additional 20 tracks from folks like A.C. Newman, Buffalo Tom and Laura Veirs will be released digitally.