The ‘Gum Drop Volume XXIV: Hear New Telephone Jim Jesus, Win Paul Frank And Steve Aoki Swag

In this week’s ‘Gum Drop, we premiered a tune from Oakland’s George Chadwick, aka Telephone Jim Jesus. The folks at anticon call his birthplace of New London, New Hampshire “snowy,” and you could say the same for his lovely, Baudelaire-riffing sophomore solo album Anywhere Out Of The Everything. The record includes cameos from Pedestrian, Stereogum faves WHY?, Bomarr, Alias, Odd Nosdam and Doseone, among others, though it’s also peopled with the ghosts of a longterm relationship: Amidst the beats, guest voices, and lush forward momentum, the fuzzy transmissions rattle with a melancholic underpin. The same vibe’s apparent on non-album track “Things,” on which Chadwick stitches together a Gothic-leaning spectral instrumental with a “children’s music education record.” To hear the tune and read about the compositional process and the emotions that went into the song, click here.

On the giveaway tip, we offered a Paul Frank bicycle, watch, and poster, plus an autographed copy of the new Steve Aoki CD to one lucky-ass winner. Details and pretty pictures after the jump.

Telephone Jim Jesus

A picture’s worth a thousand words and all that, so feast your eyes on the Paul Frank merchandise:

The Paul Frank company also has a website. Steve Aoki, who runs the L.A. based Dim Mak label and clothing line and produces/remixes with Blake Miller as Weird Science, had Paul Frank design him some limited edition pillowcases. As far as Aoki’s own goods go, this is the tracklist for his just-released Pillowface and His Airplane Chronicles mix. (Note the pillow overlap?) It’ll make you feel like you’re at one of his Cinespace Tuesdays without having to leave the comfort of your own home.

01 Refused – “New Noise”
02 Justice – “Waters Of Nazereth” (Erol Alkan’s Durrr Durrr Durrrrrr Re-Edit) w/ Pase Rock
03 Does It Offend You, Yeah? – “We Are Rockstars” w/ Spank Rock & Amanda Blank
04 Services – “Element Of Danger” (MSTRKRFT Remix) w/ Har Mar Superstar
05 Goose – “Bring it On” w/ Todd Fink
06 Larry Tee & Princess Superstar – “Licky (Work it Out)” [Herve Goes Low Remix] w/ Santogold
07 Green Velvet – “Shake And Pop” w/ Kid Sister
08 Klaxons – “Gravity’s Rainbow” (Soulwax Remix)
09 The Mystery Jets – “The Boy Who Ran Away” (Riton Re-Dub)
10 Peaches – “Boys Wanna Be Her” (Weird Science Remix)
11 Datarock – “Fa-Fa-Fa” w/ Steve Bays
12 Yelle – “Je Veux Te Voir”
13 Franz Ferdinand – “Do You Want To” (Erol Alkan’s Glam Racket Remix)
14 KIM – “Wet ‘N Wild” w/ Mickey Avalon
15 Bloc Party – “Helicopter” (Weird Science Remix feat. Peaches)
16 Justice – “D.A.N.C.E.” (MSTRKRFT Remix)
17 Scanners – “Low Life” (L.A. Riots’ Remix) w/ Uffie

Sign up to win everything here. If you need to do further research, you can hear 30-second clips of each track over here or surf to the man’s MySpace. The disc’s out now on Thrive/Dim Mak and looks like this: