New Mountain Goats – “Genesis 3:23″

After Heretic Pride and the Satanic Messiah EP, John Darnielle’s getting more Godly with the forthcoming The Life Of The World To Come, which features a 12-song tracklist made entirely of Bible verses. He’s joined on the collection by Superchunk drummer Jon Wurster, longtime pal Peter Hughes on bass, and Owen Pallett concocting string arrangements. You can hear what they’re up to on lead track “Genesis 3:23,” but first, the relevant verse: “So the Lord God banished him from the Garden of Eden to work the ground from which he had been taken.” That’ll help you make sense of the song’s break-in and homelessness.

The Mountain Goats – “Genesis 3:23″ (MP3)

Over at Darnielle explains the reasoning behind his holiness:

I guess the obvious question is going to be: “John, have you had some sort of religious awakening?” and while I guess lots of people might want to be coy about answering that, that’s never really been my style, so: no. It’s not like that. It’s not some heavy-narrative-distance deal either, though, and it’s not a screed. It’s twelve new songs: twelve hard lessons the Bible taught me, kind of. More than that I’d want to wait to say until some people have heard it, which won’t be long. Will there be more news soon, quite soon? Like, next week, even? Oh yes there will!

If you want to do more reading:

01 “1 Samuel 15:23″
02 “Psalms 40:2″
03 “Genesis 3:23″
04 “Philippians 3:20-21″
05 “Hebrews 11:40″
06 “Genesis 30:3″
07 “Romans 10:9″
08 “1 John 4:16″
09 “Matthew 25:21″
10 “Deuteronomy 2:10″
11 “Isaiah 45:23″
12 “Ezekiel 7 and the Permanent Efficacy of Grace”

The Life Of The World To Come is out 10/6 via 4AD.