Animal Collective Prep New EP, Pose For New Photo

It feels like we’re still savoring the flavor of Strawberry Jam, but Animal Collective are already returning with a new four-track EP, Water Curses. According to the press release:

All four tracks have a more stripped down feel than their recent work, opener “Water Curses” takes an unexpected rhythm and throws it up, down and sideways to produce the sound of a smile…

“Street Flash” is nearly seven minutes of spaced out hollers, electronics and lullabies that luxuriate in a chord sequence running through a delay that sounds like it’s made of honey. Threatening to explode but laying back on itself instead the track is like a particularly lucid dream.

“Cobwebs” is equally languid. Weaving itself around a vocal that sounds like it’s imagining some new kind of space church for Al Green to conduct weddings until it slowly fades away into a sticky ether. The EP’s final track takes the celestial feel into even more blissed-out states. Seal Eyeing is the moment you realize watching vapor trails melt into the sky is not only the most constructive thing you can do, but the only real option that’s left.

We haven’t heard it so we can’t give it a review, but Maxim says it’s meh. Here’s a tracklist and a new photo of the band looking creepy:

Animal Collective - Water Curses

OK, not as creepy as the “Peacebone” video. The tracks:

01 Water Curses
02 Street Flash
03 Cobwebs
04 Seal Eyeing

Too bad “Taste” didn’t make it. The first three were recorded with Scott Colburn at Wavelab Studio in Tucson. Right, the same place where they put Strawberry Jam to tape. “Seal Eyeing” was recorded by Nicolas Vernhes, who also mixed the album at Rare Book Room in Brooklyn. Remember to catch ‘em at All Points West.

Water Curses is out 5/6 on Domino.