The ‘Gum Drop Volume XXVII: Hear New Witch, Win Radiohead Swag

We’re really digging Witch’s Paralyzed, out 3/18 on Tee Pee. This week’s Drop, “Old Trap Mine,” is the epic finale from that nine-song collection, which finds the Vermont/Western Mass crew expanding into heavier, sludgier, occasionally up-tempo punk-ish realms. The rhythm section of bassist Dave Sweetapple and drummer J Mascis is out of control (Deep Wound, yeah, but remember Upsidedown Cross?). Vocalist/guitarist Kyle Thomas and non-pictured guitarist Asa Irons, both also of folk crew Feathers, pack the jams with dense, airy psychedelic grooves and hooks. You can get a taste of all the aforementioned and find out what “Old Trap Line” has to do with Vipassana Meditation and Andrei Tarkovsky if you click here.

Witch - 'Old Trap Line'

For the prize-giving portion of this week’s ‘Gum Drop, we offered the change to win a limited-edition Radiohead 4GB USB stick packed with the seven Parlophone albums. It’s shaped like the Radiohead bear! Seriously…

This is what the lil’ bugger looks like.

As you can tell, it comes with a wee Radiohead-emblazoned case. Here it is opened up and ready for action.

The USB includes all seven Parlophone albums — including one live album — as CD-quality WAV files, along with the digital artwork for each:

Pablo Honey (1993)
The Bends (1995)
OK Computer (1997)
Kid A (2000)
Amnesiac (2001)
I Might Be Wrong: Live Recordings (2001)
Hail To The Thief (2003)

Need to jog your memory re: the song listings? Head here. We have one stick for one winner. Please enter here. Also, there’s still time to enter and win last week’s prize of a Gibson Epiphone Dot hollow-body electric guitar and a copy of Astra Heights’ debut CD. Enter now.


Tags: Radiohead, Witch