Reading & Leeds Festivals 2009 In Photos

This past weekend, bill-sharing fellows Reading and Leeds were tasked with distracting a nation still reeling from the death of its Oasis. Their secret weapons were unannounced sets by Them Crooked Vultures, the tweet-happy supergroup of Dave Grohl, John Paul Jones, and Josh Homme who introduced his band as “Michael Jackson” because he’s so talented at stage patter. (Incidentally, Nirvana’s legendary Reading ’92 performance is finally coming to CD/DVD 11/3.) Singer/producer Homme didn’t cameo with his bros in Eagles Of Death Metal or Arctic Monkeys, but there was plenty of other crossover fun in the form of cover songs: London HypeMachinists XX did their version of Womack And Womack’s “Teardrops,” Gossip took on “Sex On Fire” by headliners Kings Of Leon, and Fall Out Boy attempted Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believing.” Elsewhere, Vampire Weekend (this year on a mainstage) played new songs that aren’t all that new anymore, Patrick Wolf changed costumes mid-gig presumably to something tasteful and understated, Mike Patton arched his eyebrows a lot, and security cracked down on crowd-surfing by anyone not named Alice Glass. Finally, Radiohead surprised few by including “These Are My Twisted Words” both nights, but no one predicted their Reading set would open with “Creep.” Or tease YYY’s “Maps” in the intro to “Everything In Its Right Place.” (NME says they also debuted a new song, but that is a twisted lie!) Peruse their setlists and pro video, and a smorgasbord of photos from the eventful bank holiday weekend this way…


“Maps” > “Everything In Its Right Place”

Radiohead Leeds Setlist 8/29/09
01 “15 Step”
02 “Airbag”
03 “There There”
04 “All I Need”
05 “Lucky”
06 “Nude”
07 “Morning Bell”
08 “Arpeggi”
09 “2+2=5″
10 “A Wolf At The Door”
11 “Videotape”
12 “Nice Dream”
13 “The Gloaming”
14 “Reckoner”
15 “The National Anthem”
16 “Bodysnatchers”
17 “Idioteque”
18 “You and Whose Army?”
19 “These Are My Twisted Words”
20 “Jigsaw Falling Into Place”
21 “Paranoid Android”
22 “Just”
23 “Everything In Its Right Place”

Radiohead Reading Setlist 8/30/09
01 “Creep”
02 “The National Anthem”
03 “15 Step”
04 “There There”
05 “All I Need”
06 “Nude”
07 “2+2=5″
08 “The Gloaming”
09 “Climbing Up The Walls”
10 “Street Spirit”
11 “Reckoner”
12 “Karma Police”
13 “Arpeggi”
14 “Just”
15 “Idioteque”
16 “Exit Music”
17 “Bodysnatchers”
18 “You And Whose Army?”
19 “Lucky”
20 “These Are My Twisted Words”
21 “Jigsaw Falling Into Place”
22 “Paranoid Android”
23 “Everything In Its Right Place”

This is what “Creep” sounded like at Reading ’94:

“Creep” (’94)

sounds of buzz