Vampire Weekend’s Contra Revealed

Vampire Weekend’s Contra Revealed

Recognize this comely mystery girl? In recent weeks her portrait has appeared on various music blogs with no link or accompanying text. An ad for Ralph Lauren? Probably not. Cue viral buzz. In its second phase, the ad linked to, a page with nothing more than an enlarged version of the photo. And today, the big reveal: the URL redirects to Vampire Weekend’s site.

There you’ll find Kirsten soundtracked by a hazy, pretty instrumental snippet of “I Think Ur A Contra.”

The indie popstars’ highly anticipated, Rostam-produced sophomore LP Contra will hit stores via XL on 1/12. That’s when we’ll discuss whether it’s the best album of 2010 so far or just the best viral marketing of 2009. Here’s the tracklist with some familiar titles:

01 “Horchata”
02 “White Sky”
03 “Holiday”
04 “California English”
05 “Taxi Cab”
06 “Run”
07 “Cousins”
08 “Giving Up the Gun”
09 “Diplomat’s Son”
10 “I Think Ur A Contra”

Vampire Weekend – “White Sky” (Live On Jimmy Fallon) (MP3)

VW performed some of the tunes for a forthcoming Unplugged. XL also promises “more exciting news and media in the coming weeks.”

UPDATE: Here’s some live footage of “Run” (thanks caps).

more from News

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?