Katy Goodman Covers The Smiths (Stereogum Premiere)

Katy Goodman is a red-haired human being who, as Kickball Katy, plays bass in the Vivian Girls, and who, as La Sera, also makes solo music. Recording under her own name for once, Goodman has contributed a cover of “What She Said” to a new tribute compilation called Please Please Please: A Tribute To The Smiths. The double-disc collection also features Smiths covers from people like Telekinesis, Built To Spill’s Doug Martsch, and, um, Sixpence None The Richer. Listen to Goodman’s haunted, slowed-down cover and check out the album’s tracklist below.

Katy Goodman – “What She Said”


01 Kitten – “Panic”
02 The Rest – “Stop Me If You Think You’ve Heard This One Before”
03 Joy Zipper – “What Difference Does It Make?”
04 Tanya Donelly with Dylan In The Movies – “Shoplifters Of The World Unite”
05 William Fitzsimmons – “Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want”
06 Sixpence None The Richer – “I Won’t Share You”
07 Sara Lov – “Well I Wonder”
08 Greg Laswell – “Half A Person”
09 Dala – “Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me”
10 Chikita Violenta – “Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others”


01 Telekinesis – “Sheila Take A Bow”
02 Solvents – “Is It Really So Strange?”
3. “Hand In Glove” — The Wedding Present
04 Mike Viola And The Section Quartet – “How Soon Is Now?”
05 Trespassers William – “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out”
06 Girl In A Coma – “Rubber Ring”
07 Elk City – “I Know It’s Over”
08 Katy Goodman – “What She Said”
09 Cinerama – “London”
10 Doug Martsch – “Reel Around The Fountain”

Please Please Please is out now on American Laundromat; it’s available directly or from iTunes.