Conor Oberst Releasing Solo Album, Playing Solo Shows … Kinda Like Bright Eyes

We’d venture to say that all Bright Eyes productions are essentially solo projects, but now Conor’s going by his given name instead. At least for one self-titled album — his first solo effort in 13 years — due out on Merge at the end of the summer. Who can blame him after the tepidness that was Cassadaga. (Although, Rolling Stone just named him the Best Songwriter of 2008 so at least now you know it’s not true.) Starting anew, though still sporting the same promo shot, Oberst recorded the dozen tracks in Tepoztlán, Morelos, México between January and February ’08. Merge gives it to us mystical: “In Tepoztlán, a place known for Aztec Magic and Extra-Terrestrial Sightings, a temporary studio was created in a mountain villa called Valle Místico at the outskirts of town.” On the album, he’s appropriately backed by the Mystic Valley Band. Conor, give DevBan his band back. Check the tracklist:

01 “Cape Cañaveral”
02 “Sausalito”
03 “Get-Well-Cards”
04 “Lenders In The Temple”
05 “Danny Callahan”
06 “I Don’t Want To Die (In The Hospital)”
07 “Eagle On A Pole”
08 “Moab”
09 “NYC – Gone, Gone”
10 “Valle Místico (Ruben’s Song)”
11 “Souled Out!!!”
12 “Milk Thistle”

We are really looking forward to “Souled Out!!!” … And does “NYC – Gone, Gone” mean he moved? On the road:

8/22 – Leeds, England @ Leeds Festival
8/24 – Reading, England @ Reading Festival
8/31 – County Laois, Ireland @ Electric Picnic
9/27 – Austin, TX @ ACL Music Festival

Conor Oberst is out 8/5 on Merge.