Monthly Mix

Stereogum Monthly Mix: January 2012

Here it is, the first mix of The Last Year. So far we’ve had a flood of good music these first few weeks of 2012, which in fairness is probably just the result of bands wisely holding back on releasing things into the holiday void that is the winternet, but let’s be optimistic about it and say this is going to be one of the greatest years for music in your lifetime. Why not! All of that said, this mix is only 10 songs, but they are ten of the very best songs we posted this month, with the added bonus of being ten songs that sound great precisely in the order in which they are presented here. Download it, open a bottle of wine for your movie night — as it is a January Friday and these are the most guilt-free hermit nights of the entire year — and press play to charm your honey with your superior taste in freely available promotional MP3s. “I love you.” That’s coming your way just as soon as you do the aforementioned, and also click through to the listing of tracks that didn’t make the mix, also laid out, conveniently, below:

Stereogum Monthly Mix: January 2012 (.zip, 84.2MB)

01 Tanlines – “Brothers”
02 Grimes – “Genesis”
03 Lower Dens – “Brains”
04 Santigold – “Big Mouth”
05 Azealia Banks x Machinedrum – “NEEDSUMLUV”
06 Nicolas Jaar – “With Just One Glance” (Feat. Scout Laroue and Will Epstein)
07 Dirty Three – “Rising Below”
08 Lambchop – “Gone Tomorrow”
09 Julianna Barwick – “Never Change”
10 Memoryhouse – “This Will Be Our Year” (Zombies Cover)

So yeah, there were some good MP3s that didn’t quite make the cut, primarily (though not exclusively) on grounds of mixtape vibe and sequencing. MP3s like those from of Montreal, Matthew Dear, Cloud Nothings, Oberhofer, and Shearwater. There were a few MP3s worth digging into that already existed on free mixtapes all their own, like those put out by Himanshu and Rick Ross. And then there was the laundry list of bands that put out great tracks in streaming format only. So your homework for the weekend is to make sure you pull up some laptop and wrap your ears around these tracks:

01 Frankie Rose’s “Night Swim”
02 Daniel Rossen – “Saint Nothing”
03 Sleigh Bells – “Comeback Kid”
04 Magnetic Fields “Andrew In Drag”
05 Black Dice – “Pigs”
06 Islands – “Hallways