Grandaddy Mix Tape

Space-rock god Jason Lytle describes his new hand-picked compilation CD…

“After looking back over this list of my favorite songs I’ve compiled, I can’t help but notice how they are not big ‘heavy hitters’ off of the albums that they came from, or the songs that the record labels would have suggested as being ‘singles.’ They did, though, end up being my favorite songs from those albums, and this fact has intrigued me since childhood. Why am I usually more smitten with the unobvious hits than the obvious hits? Somewhere in this list lies the answer.”

01 Beck: “We Live Again”
02 Beulah: “Burned By The Sun”
03 Earlimart: “Color Bars”
04 Snow Patrol: “Run”
05 Golden Boy: “Wild Was the Night”
06 Giant Sand: “Bottom Line Man”
07 Fruitbats: “The Little Acorn”
08 Home: “Comin’ Up Empty Again”
09 Jackpot: “If We Could Go Backwards”
10 The Handsome Family: “I Feel”
11 Little Wings: “Sand Canyon”
12 Pavement: “Motion Suggests”
13 Blonde Redhead: “For The Damaged”
14 Virgil Shaw: “Twisted Layers”
15 Grandaddy: “Nature Anthem” (previously unreleased)

Preview at Ultrarecords (link via Coolfer).