Brian Wilson Returns To Capitol For New Album, Preps Tour

There’s no doubt Brian Wilson’s not what he was in his prime, but he’s still Brian Wilson (when we last checked), so it’s good news That Lucky Old Sun finally has an official release date. As well as an official label, the direly fucked/Citigroup indebted Capitol/EMI, where BW started his career way back when the Beach Boys released “Surfin’ Safari/409″ in 1962. As the press release tells us:

“I’m thrilled to be back home with Capitol, and I’m looking forward to sharing That Lucky Old Sun with everyone,” says Brian Wilson. “This music is really special to me.”

…A musical love letter from Southern California, That Lucky Old Sun shimmers with sun-dappled choruses and arrangements that swell and swirl as if carried by the Pacific tides … The album is narrated in transitional interludes spoken by Wilson as “That Lucky Old Sun,” the storyteller. The narratives, cameos on life and the heartbeat of Los Angeles, propel the album’s musical story.

Last summer, Wilson found himself singing the 1949 classic song, “That Lucky Old Sun,” which became the inspiration for a unique approach to what would become his next studio release. He bought Louis Armstrong’s version of the track and was inspired to collaborate lyrically with his band mate Scott Bennett, and with Van Dyke Parks, his old “sidekick,” to create vibrant spoken narratives.

…Wilson describes That Lucky Old Sun as an “interwoven series of ’rounds’ with interspersed spoken word,” and as an autobiographical travelogue of sorts. The new studio album is produced by Wilson and was created with his acclaimed band at Capitol Studios in Hollywood, where he first recorded in 1962.

As we mentioned previously, Wilson debuted That Lucky Old Sun in London this past September. But now we have a full tracklist.

That Lucky Old Sun tracklist:

01 “That Lucky Old Sun”
02 “Morning Beat”
03 “That Lucky Old Sun” (narrative)
04 “Good Kind Of Love”
05 “Forever My Surfer Girl”
06 “That Lucky Old Sun” (narrative)
07 “Live Let Live”
08 “Mexican Girl”
09 “That Lucky Old Sun” (narrative)
10 “California Role”
11 “That Lucky Old Sun” (narrative)
12 “Oxygen”
13 “Can’t Wait Too Long” (vocal excerpt)
14 “Midnight’s Another Day”
15 “Going Home”
16 “Southern California”

That Lucky Old Sun is out 9/2 on Capitol/EMI (there will be some limited-edition vinyl). If you recall, “Midnight’s Another Day” was great, and we’re glad to see there are narratives on there, but we do have to admit we’re bummed “Smart Girls” didn’t make the cut because big brains are awesome, dude. As are psychotic surf raps.

That highly quotable press release also tells us that “Brian Wilson and his band will perform a number of his classic hits and compositions,” during his summer tour, so maybe there’s outside hope for a “Smart Girls” revival.

06/28 – London (UK) @ English Heritage Picnic Concerts
06/29 – Ipswich (UK) @ Regent Theatre
07/01 – London (UK) @ Royal Albert Hall
07/08 – Niagara Falls, ON @ Niagara Fallsview Casino (Avalon Ballroom)
07/09 – Ottawa, ON @ Ottawa Blues Fest
07/12 – Highmount, NY @ Belleayre Mountain Ski Center
07/13 – Hampton Beach, NH @ Hampton Beach Casino Ballroom
09/12 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Bowl
09/13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Bowl
09/14 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Bowl