Dirty Projectors Swing Lo Magellan Details

On Friday, just as the weekend was getting set to jump off, Dirty Projectors left us with their surprisingly smooth new single “Gun Has No Trigger.” And today, the band announces all the details behind the album that’ll accompany it. This one, the follow-up to 2009’s great Bitte Orca, is called Swing Lo Magellan, and it’s coming 7/10 in America and a day earlier in the rest of the world, via Domino. Leader Dave Longstreth, in a press release, calls it “an album of songs, an album of songwriting.” The band — without Angel Deradoorian, who’s on hiatus from them — spent a ton of time rehearsing the songs in an A-frame house in upstate New York, and they whittled the 12-song album down from about 40 finished demos. And you know what that means! Lots and lots of B-sides! Below, check out the album’s tracklist.

01 “Offspring Are Blank”
02 “About to Die”
03 “Gun Has No Trigger”
04 “Swing Lo Magellan”
05 “Just From Chevron”
06 “Dance For You”
07 “Maybe That Was It”
08 “Impregnable Question”
09 “See What She Seeing”
10 “The Socialites”
11 “Unto Caesar”
12 “Irresponsible Tune”

The band will also play Brooklyn’s Prospect Park Bandshell on 7/10 and Chicago’s Pitchfork Music Festival, which goes down 7/13-15.

[Photo by Jason Frank Rothenberg]