Pitchfork Music Festival 2012 Expanded Lineup Revealed

The Pitchfork Music Festival announced the first chunk of its lineup in February, and it featured names like Vampire Weekend, Feist, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, and Hot Chip. And just as it always does, Pitchfork announced the rest of the lineup in a couple of installments, and now they’ve got the complete finished product posted. So now we know that the bill will also include Beach House, Wild Flag, Dirty Projectors, Chavez, Thee Oh Sees, Cults, Atlas Sound, Flying Lotus, Big K.R.I.T., Iceage, Youth Lagoon, Clams Casino, Nicolas Jaar, and a ton of others.

Compared to last year’s show, headlined by the Animal Collective/Fleet Foxes/TV On The Radio triumvirate, this one’s a little low on star-power. Beyond Vampire Weekend on Sunday, it’s honestly a bit hard to tell who’s headlining each of the days. Still, this is an utterly solid lineup throughout. And as someone who’s attended every last Pitchfork fest going back to that first Intonation one, I can say that this is one of the most relentlessly pleasant and well-designed summer festivals I’ve had the pleasure of experiencing. (I also wrote for the site that whole time, so they treated me nice, but I’m pretty sure I’d feel that way regardless.)