Cinnamon And Lesbians

Last month we heard (and dissected) “Lariat,” the lead single from Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks’ upcoming Wig Out At Jagbags. Now comes our second taste from the album in the form of director Jay Winebrenner’s “Cinnamon And Lesbians” video. Like “Lariat,” the song is absolutely not going to shock anyone who’s been listening to Malkmus any time in the past decade — i.e. it’s inscrutable, preternaturally melodic, slightly jammy, and floats along at an easygoing pace. As for the video, there’s some kind of goofy storyline interspersed between Jicks performance clips and other assorted quirk. It’s nice; find out for yourself below.

Wig Out At Jagbags is out 1/7/14 via Matador. Head here to enter a contest to win a private concert from Malkmus & The Jicks at Other Music 1/9. Other Jicks’ tour dates are below.

Wed Feb 12 – Denver, CO – Gothic Theatre (with Tyvek)
Fri Feb 14 – Columbia, MO – Mojo’s (with Tyvek)
Sat Feb 15 – St. Louis, MO – Old Rock House (with Tyvek)
Sun Feb 16 – Omaha, NE – The Waiting Room (with Tyvek)
Tue Feb 18 – Minneapolis, MN – Cedar Cultural Center (with Tyvek)
Wed Feb 19 – Madison, WI – High Noon Saloon (with Tyvek)
Thu Feb 20 – Chicago, IL – Lincoln Hall (with Disappears)
Fri Feb 21 – Ferndale, MI – The Loving Touch (with Disappears)
Sat Feb 22 – Toronto, ON – Lee’s Palace (with Disappears)
Sun Feb 23 – Montreal, QC – Cafe Campus (with Disappears)
Tue Feb 25 – Boston, MA – Paradise (with Disappears)
Wed Feb 26 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom (with Disappears)
Thu Feb 27 – Brooklyn, NY – Music Hall of Williamsburg (with Endless Boogie)
Fri Feb 28 – Washington, DC – Black Cat (with Endless Boogie)
Sat March 01 – Philadelphia, PA – Theatre of Living Arts (with Endless Boogie)
Mon March 03 – Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle (with Purling Hiss)
Tue March 04 – Atlanta, GA – Terminal West (with Purling Hiss)
Wed March 05 – Birmingham, AL – The Bottletree (with Purling Hiss)
Thu March 06 – New Orleans, LA – The Parish @ House of Blues (with Purling Hiss)
Fri March 07 – Houston, TX – Fitzgerald’s Upstairs (with Purling Hiss)
Sun March 09 – Dallas, TX – Granada Theater (with Purling Hiss)
Sat March 15 – Portland, OR – Star Theater
Thu March 27 – San Francisco, CA – Slim’s (with Speedy Ortiz)
Fri March 28 – Los Angeles, CA – El Rey Theatre (with Speedy Ortiz)
Sat March 29 – San Diego, CA – Casbah (with Speedy Ortiz)
Sun March 30 – Pioneertown, CA – Pappy & Harriets Pioneertown (with Speedy Ortiz)
Tue April 01 – Phoenix, AZ – The Crescent Ballroom (with Speedy Ortiz)
Wed April 02 – Las Vegas, NV – Beauty Bar (with Speedy Ortiz)
Thu April 03 – Salt Lake City, UT – Urban Lounge (with Speedy Ortiz)
Sat April 05 – Missoula, MT – Top Hat (with Speedy Ortiz)
Mon April 7 – Calgary, AB – Republik (with Speedy Ortiz)
Tue April 8 – Edmonton, AB – Starlite Room (with Speedy Ortiz)
Thu April 10 – Vancouver, BC – Rickshaw Theatre (with Speedy Ortiz)
Fri April 11 – Victoria, BC – Lucky Bar (with Speedy Ortiz)
Sat April 12 – Seattle, WA – Neptune Theatre (with Speedy Ortiz)

Comments (2)
  1. Song would appear to be an homage to the Grateful Dead’s St. Stephen. Same key, same ’69 Garcia sounding guitar tone, and the riff is nearly copied minus a few notes. Good song!

  2. Stephen Malkmus, making all the lesbians scream!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2