Arcade Fire, Feist, Randy Newman Cover Peter Gabriel On And I’ll Scratch Yours

About three years ago, Peter Gabriel released his Scratch My Back album, on which he covered songs by people like Arcade Fire, Radiohead, David Bowie, and Bon Iver. At the time, the idea was that all the people Gabriel had covered would repay the favor and cover his older songs on another album. But time went on, Arcade Fire’s publicists said they weren’t doing it, and the whole thing sort of faded away. But it’s happening! The forthcoming compilation And I’ll Scratch Yours has Peter Gabriel covers from almost everyone who Gabriel covered on Scratch My Back; Neil Young and Radiohead are the only two holdouts. The LP includes previously-released songs like Bon Iver’s version of “Come Talk To Me,” Elbow’s “Mercy Street,” and David Byrne’s “I Don’t Remember,” as well as the Arcade Fire version of “Games Without Frontiers” that wasn’t supposed to happen. Feist, Stephin Merritt, Brian Eno, Paul Simon, and others also contribute. Check out the tracklist, and listen to most of the cuts, below.

01 David Byrne – “I Don’t Remember”
02 Bon Iver – “Come Talk to Me”
03 Regina Spektor – “Blood Of Eden”
04 Stephin Merritt – “Not One Of Us”
05 Joseph Arthur – “Shock The Monkey”
06 Randy Newman – “Big Time”
07 Arcade Fire – “Games Without Frontiers”
08 Elbow – “Mercy Street”
09 Brian Eno – “Mother Of Violence”
10 Feist – “Don’t Give Up” (Feat. Timber Timbre)
11 Lou Reed – “Solsbury Hill”
12 Paul Simon – “Biko”

And I’ll Scratch Yours is out 9/23 on Real World. Check out our ranking of PG’s discography, worst to best, here.