Yuck – “Middle Sea”

Yuck frontman Daniel Blumberg quit the band earlier this year, but the young British fuzz-rockers aren’t going to let that slow them down. Last month, they returned as a trio and released “Rebirth,” a way better song than anyone was expecting. And now they’ve announced plans for their sophomore album Glow & Behold, which is set to arrive this fall. They’ve also shared another song, the gloriously bleary “Middle Sea,” a piece of prime ’90s-style effects-pedal comfort-food with the sort of crustily triumphant chorus hook that would make J Mascis proud. Also, is that a trumpet? I think that’s a trumpet! The song is great, and you can hear it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Sunrise In Maple Shade”
02 “Out Of Time”
03 “Lose My Breath”
04 “Memorial Fields”
05 “Middle Sea”
06 “Rebirth”
07 “Somewhere”
08 “Nothing New”
09 “How Does It Feel”
10 “Twilight In Maple Shade (Chinese Cymbals)”
11 “Glow & Behold”
(via Pitchfork)

Glow & Behold is out 10/1 on Fat Possum/Pharmacy, and I can’t tell if I want “Lose My Breath” to be a Destiny’s Child cover or not.

Tags: Yuck