Disclosure, Savages, Bowie Make Mercury Prize 2013 Shortlist

The time of year has come again for the Barclaycard Mercury Prize to reveal its shortlist of nominees for best British album of the year. Of the 12 albums, one winner will be chosen next month and awarded the £20,000 prize and some major bragging rights. And the nominees are…

  • Rudimental – Home
  • Foals – Holy Fire
  • Jon Hopkins – Immunity
  • Jake Bugg – Jake Bugg
  • Laura Mvula – Sing To The Moon
  • Villagers – Awayland
  • Savages – Silence Yourself
  • David Bowie – The Next Day
  • Disclosure – Settle
  • Laura Marling – Once I Was An Eagle
  • James Blake – Overgrown
  • Arctic Monkeys – AM

The winner will be announced 10/30. Previous winners include Primal Scream’s Screamadelica, Pulp’s Different Class, Portishead’s Dummy, and not Radiohead, not even once.