Watch Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks Preview Wig Out At Jagbags, Cover Led Zeppelin & Velvet Underground In Portland

Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks’ sixth album, the excellently titled Wig Out At Jagbags, is out in January via Matador Records. The band, which consists of Malkmus, Mike Clark, Joanna Bolme, and Jake Morris (who replaced drummer Janet Weiss after Minor Traffic), previewed some of the songs from the LP at a hometown show at Portland’s Crystal Ballroom last night. Among them were “Cinnamon And Lesbians” (introduced as a song about Portland or “any town with cinnamon and lesbians in it”) and “Houston Hades,” both of which they’ve played live in the past. They also performed the new-ish “Lariat” and “Independence Street,” though we won’t know if those are on Jagbags too until the album is officially announced next week. Malkmus didn’t play anything from his great self-titled solo album, but he encored with a Pavement > Zeppelin > Velvet Underground jam. Watch it along with videos of all the new songs below.

“Cinnamon And Lesbians”

“Houston Hades”


“Independence Street”

“Harness Your Hopes” (Pavement) > “Stairway to Heaven” (Led Zeppelin) > “Beginning To See The Light” (The Velvet Underground)

01 “Senator”
02 “Cinnamon & Lesbians”
03 “Animal Midnight”
04 “I’ve Hardly Been”
05 “Asking Price”
06 “Stick Figures In Love”
07 “No One Is (As I Are Be)”
08 “Planetary Motion”
09 “Houston Ladies”
10 “Forever 28″
11 “Spazz”
12 “Dark Wave”
13 “Lariat”
14 “Independence Street” > “No More Shoes”
15 “Baby C’Mon”

16 “Harness Your Hopes” (Pavement) > “Stairway To Heaven” (Led Zeppelin) > “Beginning To See The Light” (The Velvet Underground)